Three things to check before you buy
Does it count toward the 23 hours? PMI accepts education from the provider types in its exam outline: PMI Authorized Training Partner courses, learning activities at PMI chapters, employer programs, training companies, distance-learning providers with an end-of-course assessment, and university or continuing-education programs (CAPM ECO, checked October 30, 2026). The full rule is on CAPM requirements.
Which outline does it teach? The CAPM outline in force is the 2023 update, with four domains. No newer CAPM outline had been announced (pmi.org, checked October 30, 2026), so material organized around an older syllabus will not line up.
Which PMBOK® Guide does it lean on? The 8th edition came out in November 2025, with six principles and seven performance domains. The CAPM outline lists the 7th edition among its seven references and says every item appears in at least two of them, so a course built only on the 8th edition is teaching ahead of the exam.
Options compared on checkable facts
| Option | Format | Hours and PDUs | Counts toward the 23 hours? |
|---|---|---|---|
| PMI CAPM Exam Prep Course | On-demand course | 23 hours, 23 PDUs | Yes, per PMI’s store listing |
| PMI CAPM Practice Exam | Online full-length practice exam with feedback per question | 3 hours, 3 PDUs | Not stated by PMI |
| PMI Study Hall® CAPM | Practice questions, a full exam, mini quizzes, flashcards; three months of access; English only | Not listed | Not stated by PMI |
| PMI Foundations of Project Management | Paid online course | 8–12 hours, 8 PDUs | Not stated by PMI |
| Google Project Management Certificate | Six courses, about 240 hours | Not listed | Google says it gives over 100 hours of project management education toward CAPM |
| Third-party courses, apps and books (Udemy courses, Pocket Prep and others) | Varies | Not checked here | Only if the provider type is on PMI’s list |
| Practice boards on this site | Free practice test, timed sprint, flashcards, study plan | None | No |
| Our CAPM app | Practice app for iPhone and iPad | None | No |
Matching an option to your gap
- A full course
- You still need the 23 hours, or you want one structured path through all four domains.
- A full-length practice exam
- You have the hours and want to rehearse three hours of questions in one sitting.
- Study Hall
- You want a few months of mixed practice from PMI and are fine studying in English.
- The free boards here
- You want a note on every option, a timed sprint and CAPM flashcards on any device, without paying.
- Our iPhone app
- You study on an iPhone or iPad in short sessions. There is no Android version; on Android or a laptop the boards on this site are the free option.
- The reference books
- You like primary sources. The ECO lists the PMBOK Guide 7th edition, Process Groups: A Practice Guide, The PMI Guide to Business Analysis, Business Analysis for Practitioners (2nd edition), the Agile Practice Guide, The Project Management Answer Book and Effective Project Management. PMI calls the list a courtesy, and reading every book is not required.
Before you pick one
Is PMBOK 8th edition the book to study for the CAPM?
The 2023 CAPM outline lists the PMBOK Guide 7th edition among its references. The 8th edition (November 2025) is the current PMBOK, but no CAPM outline citing it had been announced (pmi.org, checked October 30, 2026).
Do I need a paid course?
You need 23 hours of project management education from a provider type PMI accepts. Self-study guides count when such a provider offers them, and so do employer programs and university courses (CAPM ECO, checked October 30, 2026).
Does the Google certificate cover the 23 hours?
Google says its certificate provides over 100 hours of project management education toward PMI credentials such as the CAPM and that it is a PMI Authorized Training Partner (grow.google, checked October 30, 2026). See CAPM vs the Google certificate.
So which option should I pick?
The one that fills your actual gap: the hours, a format rehearsal or topic practice. We make one of the options on this list, the iPhone app, so weigh this comparison with that in mind.
Sources
- PMI store: CAPM Exam Prep Course www.pmi.org — 23 hours, 23 PDUs, fulfills the 23 hours
- PMI store: CAPM Practice Exam www.pmi.org — 3 hours, 3 PDUs
- PMI store: Study Hall CAPM www.pmi.org — three months of access, English
- PMI store: Foundations of Project Management www.pmi.org — 8–12 hours, 8 PDUs
- PMI CAPM Examination Content Outline, 2023 update www.pmi.org — accepted education providers, reference list
- PMI: PMBOK Guide www.pmi.org — 8th edition, November 2025
- Google Project Management Certificate grow.google — PMI education hours toward CAPM